RSS Feed  |  Contact  |  NAMW Member Login   

What if You Weren’t There? | Memoir Writing in Absentia–Free Roundtable with Judy Mandel

Judy Mandel

May 9  / Free Memoir Roundtable Discussion  4 PM PDT   5 PM MDT  6 PM CDT  7 PM EDT For a large part of the story of Replacement Child, I was not present, or even alive yet. A crucial portion of the story, including the plane crash that took my sister’s life, happened two years before I was born. This posed an immediate problem for me as I began to write, as I know it does for other memoir writers who struggle with how to convey parts of their story that they did not witness or … [Read more...]

Congratulations to November 2010 Memoir Writing Member of the Month, Judy Mandel

judymandel

An Interview with Judy About Her Memoir, Replacement Child as Well as Some Advice for Writers NAMW:  Tell us about your memoir. Judy: Replacement Child, which came out in 2009, was the memoir I always knew I would write. It just didn’t come out the way I thought it would, or the way my parents may have envisioned it when they put aside news articles and their notes about the plane crash that killed my older sister.  That accident happened before I was born, and I always thought I was … [Read more...]