RSS Feed  |  Contact  |  NAMW Member Login   

Writing Your Spiritual/Healing Memoir

 Angel in Lourmarin

4 weeks: October 31–November 21, 2013

Thursdays   3 PM PDT    4 PM MDT    5 PM CDT    6 PM EDT

One hour teleseminar

$125.00 for Members / $135 for Non-Members

Linda Joy Myers, Workshop Leader

 

When we write a memoir, we engage with our deepest selves and embark on a journey that challenges us. In this brief workshop you can explore the topics you want to develop in a longer workshop.

We invite you to write new material, and we’ll talk about the tools of storytelling–characters, structure, and narrative arc.

Write Your Spiritual/Healing Memoir invites your raw, new, risky writing  to explore your desires, losses, triumphs. Writing a memoir celebrates your life’s path and the people you have known and loved, the significant moments that have shaped you, and the moments of aha or despair that mark your challenges.

How it Works

Each week you write your story and email it to the class members–classes are small, from 4-5 people. Feedback is supportive and confidential, to help you see what works best in your story and what you need to work on. Class members offer feedback through email, and we all discuss more details about the writing and the craft lessons on the phone each week, as in a “live” classroom discussion.

 Some topics that have been explored in the course. The structure is open for your own ideas and exploration–specific turning point moments in your life, moments of meaning that shaped you into you who are now.

  • What topics and moments do you want to explore in your spiritual memoir?
  • You can write about family–roots and legacies
  • Explore dark nights of the soul and the light that can come in as healing and insights
  • Forgiveness and compassion–challenging subjects to explore in your writing
  • Where has your sacred journey lead you during your life?

 

polished promo

 

Linda Joy Myers is president and founder of the National Association of Memoir Writers, and the author of four books: Don’t Call Me Mother—A Daughter’s Journey from Abandonment to Forgiveness, The Power of Memoir—How to Write Your Healing Story, and a workbook The Journey of Memoir: The Three Stages of Memoir Writing. Her book Becoming Whole—Writing Your Healing Story was a finalist in the ForeWord Magazine’s Book of the Year Award.

Linda has taught the Spiritual Memoir course at the Therapeutic Writing Institute for several years.

A speaker and award winning author, she co-teaches the program Write Your Memoir in Six Months, and offers editing, coaching, and mentoring for memoir, nonfiction, and fiction. www.namw.org.  Blog: http://memoriesandmemoirs.com

 

 

 

 

 

Members: $125  

add to cart button

 

 

Non-Members: $135

add to cart button

 

 

 

Comments

  1. Erica Sternin says:

    is it too late for me to join this class?

Speak Your Mind

*